Out Of Reach

The Daily Post poses this question: Was there a toy or thing you always wanted as a child, during the holidays or on your birthday, but never received? Tell us about it.

Out of Your Reach

I gave this question much thought. I couldn’t think of one thing I wanted as a child that I never received. Why? Because if no one got it for me, I usually got it for myself. If I didn’t have the means to get what I wanted, I made sure I found another way. In the end, if I didn’t get what I set out to get, I justified that result by telling myself I probably didn’t want the thing in the first place.

I’ll give you an example: When I was 5 or 6 (in the mid 1950’s) I wanted a Barbie doll. Apparently, my parents thought otherwise. I remember distinctly doing chores, getting advances on my weekly allowance and scrounging around to gather up as much money as I could. Eventually I saved up enough money and walked to our local corner toy store and bought not only Barbie, but also Ken and Barbie’s best friend Midge for both myself AND my younger sister! Back then a new Barbie doll cost $5.00 and her wardrobe outfits cost $2.50 (yes! you are reading those prices correctly). Every week or so I would add to all my doll’s wardrobe. I even managed to save up enough money to buy a pink Barbie travel case to store everything inside.

I don’t take my accomplishments lightly. (Buying my own Barbie doll was an accomplishment to me). That’s probably the difference between working and saving up for something vs having something handed to you for free. Even as a child I knew the difference in all of that! And this knowledge has served me well over my entire lifetime.

I’ve learned there is nothing in life you can’t have. If you work hard and set your mind to it, nothing in this life is out of reach. Regardless of who you are, where you live or what your background is, if you can dream it, if you truly want it, you can have it! It may take you a while (I’ve worked and saved for years for many, many things over my lifetime) but in the end, that which you desire can and will be yours!

IMG_2444Here’s a current photo of my 2 bubble-head Barbies and best friend, Midge, in original outfits and wardrobe collection, sitting in their Barbie Pink Travel case, as purchased in 1955 and still in use today, 2015, a full sixty years later. That’s how much I value what I can ascertain and accomplish in life. Don’t let anyone ever tell you, you can’t have what you want. If I could achieve this at five years old, think of what you can accomplish as an adult?

Leave a Reply

